The “You” Factor

I’m at the start of week four in Body Project’s six week transformation and I can’t believe how quickly time flies.  To begin, the adage “man plans and God laughs” couldn’t be truer.  I envisioned a delightfully calm six-week transformation. Specifically, I planned grading, writing projects, personal obligations, etc. around workouts, meals, and so on. In short, everything went awry. I had to adjust my expectations of a clear calendar and embrace the chaos. In the end I think it’s better this way. I’m learning to live a healthy and balanced life amongst the backdrop of challenges and the “unexpected.” If anything, this is “real life.”

Last week I attended a seminar focused on adrenal fatigue and nutrition. In the past I’ve looked to experts for suggested meal plans and nutritional balance without success. I’ve explored various routes and diets only to find frustration at the outcome of each experience. In attending this workshop I walked away with much more than a meal plan. I absorbed the health coach’s lecture, but I also acknowledged the common factor in each participants equation:  the “you” factor. I’ve heard the word “you” a lot throughout this transformation, but I wasn’t listening to its intention.

What works for some may not work for all. It’s about you and your body. It’s an endeavor as opposed to an ending. There’s no quick fix, miracle food, life-saving vitamin, or perfect prescription.

I know the above sounds cliché but often the most poignant and sage advice is simple to say and difficult to decipher. I heard my fellow BP sisters ask how to prep appropriately, inquire what to eat, what to drink (please don’t take away our coffee), when to seek medical assistance, etc. Each of us is desperate to find our solution, but sometimes we’re unaware of the exact problem. I left knowing we are similar in our struggle, but our specific journey can’t be measured or compared. This is where the “you” factor is essential. I constantly compare myself to others. To deny this fact would be an outright lie. When I’m at the mall I compare myself to the mannequin, whereas when I’m amongst friends I might compare myself to the group. Comparing ourselves to someone or something is a natural circumstance in our culture. However, we lose control in comparisons because we surrender focus and faith in ourselves. I’m selfless in many areas of life, but I firmly reserve my right to be selfish in my health and happiness. Life presents changes and challenges and so will my body. What’s working now might need re-visitation in the future. This is about me.  We preach patience to others but fail to preserve it for ourselves. The “you” factor won’t materialize overnight. It’s best to prepare for and accept change based upon the constant search and sustainment of the “you” factor.

This isn’t a quick fix scenario. I need to build a foundation in order to house healthy choices. My commitment to health and happiness isn’t temporary, so my attitude and actions must reflect this ideology as well. I need to look and listen for my “you” factor more carefully. In essence, celebrate the passionate pursuit of what works for “you.”

One thought on “The “You” Factor

Leave a Reply

