An Ordinary Tuesday

Yesterday was awesome. Throughout the Body Project’s six week transformation I’ve been waiting for “the” moment. Whenever I teach Katherine Mansfield, my favorite author, I always center discussion on her use of epiphany. Perhaps my obsession with Mansfield’s epiphanies is founded upon my own personal enjoyment and experiences from moments of realizations. I love the “a-ha” opportunities provided by life, which seem to ground me in one capacity and propel me forward in another. It should be noted nothing extraordinary happened yesterday. An epiphany doesn’t need to be gold and grand. For me, the best epiphany is simple and strong.

I woke up and worked out at 6 a.m.  Then I went home, ate breakfast, drank coffee, graded, wrote a few stories, and headed to class. Throughout the day I noticed an increase in my energy, an appreciation of attitude, and a general enthusiasm for every day efforts. It was an ordinary Tuesday. It “looked” normal but “felt” different. I couldn’t stop smiling about the “feeling” I had regarding life and its plans. Rather, I had plans for life. Slowly, an idea appeared…

I was living life like I always imagined it.

Toward the end of the day I took a moment to think about what I did throughout my morning, afternoon, and evening. Secretly, I wanted to bottle whatever mood I was in and save it for the dreariest of days. After careful contemplation “it” arrived: my epiphany. Yesterday I did everything I’ve been told and asked to do regarding my eating and exercise. I drank required amounts of water, worked out, ate consistently and consciously, relaxed accordingly, etc. I followed the plan and the path was paved.

Cue today. I know that feeling I’ve been searching for is possible, palpable, and powerful. I’m no longer looking for it because I’m living it.

The best part of this realization is that I’ve only just begun.

“Could we change our attitude, we should not only see life differently, but life itself would come to be different. Life would undergo a change of appearance because we ourselves had undergone a change of attitude.”   –Katherine Mansfield

 

Leave a Reply

